Movie Reviews & Queue & Personal Viewing Guide (Boiler Room, Glengarry, Tin men )

Where is the "watch later" button and tv guide/video queue?

 

Charlie Wilson's War

You rated this movie: 5.0

Excellent movie! Entertaining and shows how flawed people can do great things. Politics 101 on how to raise money for important causes. The KEY budget to target is the UNLIMITED DOD trough committee budgets. Now, if only there was one for how to raise money for all the innocent people we kill in our wars....

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2010-12-27
Wrong Is Right

Wrong Is Right

You rated this movie: 5.0

WOW! Told the future a few decades in advance. Entertaining and brilliant commentary on war and the complexities of justifying the killing of innocent people for our greater good. 35 minutes in... terrorism is killing innocent victims, history of state terror-isms (Belgians in Congo, French in Nigeria, Japanese in Manchuria, British against the Americans, Irish/british, Mussolini against Ethiopians, USA on hiroshima, Hitler on Jews, Jews on Palestinians) 1:07 - hypocrisy of "justifiable homicide"

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2010-12-21
Takva: A Man's Fear of God

Takva: A Man's Fear of God

You rated this movie: 5.0

Excellent contrast of modern versus religious values. Also, shows some of the positive value in traditional religion.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2010-03-09
Jesus of Montreal

Jesus of Montreal

You rated this movie: 5.0

Deep and profound. Slightly flawed modern theology but raises excellent questions.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2010-03-05
Farewell Israel

Farewell Israel: Bush, Iran and the Revolt of Islam

You rated this movie: 5.0

excellent history of Islam. Who knew it had such a great history of innnovation?

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2008-10-21
Lilya 4-Ever

Lilya 4-Ever

You rated this movie: 5.0

wow. deeply disturbing. sad. Gives new meaning to the LORD's prayer. When will justice reign here on Earth as it is in Heaven?

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2008-04-29
God's Outlaw: The Story of William Tyndale

God's Outlaw: The Story of William Tyndale

You rated this movie: 5.0

Decent movie. Excellent and little known life in the transmission of God's word. Tyndale introduced key words into the English language such as "Jesus" (first to use the letter J) as opposed to Jesus' real Hebrew name, Yashua, or "passover" etc.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2008-03-09
Paris, Je T'aime

Paris, Je T'aime

You rated this movie: 4.0

Love. Modern love in Paris but also deeply human. Good variety of diverse people with very interesting experiences. Thought provoking yet fun.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2008-02-21
The Bible Collection: Abraham

The Bible Collection: Abraham

You rated this movie: 5.0

Well done and engrossing. Shows perhaps the world's first communion (Gen 14) and how it may be used to fulfill God's promise for ALL people to blessed through Abram (Gen 12). Abram = "man of greatness", Abraham = "father of nations". Also, shows short term costs of following God for long term blessings, Abraham's doubts, his total devotion to one wife, to freeing slaves and the importance of giving back to God. Also, my brother would like this as his son is named Isaac - "laughter".

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2008-02-18
The God Who Wasn't There

The God Who Wasn't There

You rated this movie: 2.0

This movie tries to critically examine Christianity which is important. Unfortunately, it is sloppy and misleading. Several of the Bible quotes are out of context. Please read yourself. But most importantly, even with the misleading points, the movie never asks, how then, if Jesus was simply a myth, why has Christianity become the leading religion of the world? Why has it produced so many servants of humanity such as Martin Luther King, or Gandhi (got his philosophy from Tolstoy's Kingdom of God) or Mother Theresa to so many others? How did Christianity produce the leading universities in the world (eg. Harvard and most ivy leagues were started as seminaries etc)?

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2008-02-13

The Conscientious Objector

You rated this movie: 5.0

Utterly amazing story. Should be required watching in schools. This is a very unique story.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2008-01-28
Unfaithful Women

Unfaithful Women

You rated this movie: 3.0

This movie raises some great questions about infidelity and why women are unsatisfied in a marriage they may cheat. Unfortunately, this lustful movie glorifies the pursuit of pleasure at all costs as the highest purpose in life. People of faith will find this movie sad. Non believers will probably like the movie, which borders on pornography.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2007-12-21
Umrao Jaan

Umrao Jaan

You rated this movie: 5.0

This movie raises a lot of great questions about love, lust and "courtesans" aka high end prostitutes. The power of love, how love is devotion, the challenges of love and the practicality of reality, how wealth can destroy love. Very interesting Indian movie.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2007-12-05
Gloomy Sunday

Gloomy Sunday

You rated this movie: 5.0

Wikipedia says this is Reed Hasting's favorite movie so I'm going to check it out!! WOW - what a movie. Love, morality and tragedy. Does knowledge create better ways to live or better ways to kill?

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2007-11-15
3:10 to Yuma

3:10 to Yuma

You rated this movie: 5.0

Great movie on several accounts. Good western action but also very deep on several levels with good comments on military involvement, justice and even faith. Especially on the costs of doing the right thing. Loved this movie so much I'd like to see the original this movie is based on.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2007-10-09
The Fountainhead

The Fountainhead

You rated this movie: 5.0

Chapter on Individual vs. collective is brilliant! Principles of the noblest country in world history. Wish I had the transcript right here!

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2007-09-24
White Light, Black Rain

White Light, Black Rain: The Destruction of Hiroshima and Nagasaki

You rated this movie: 5.0

Near the end the movie it notes how when we wrote Japan's new constitution one article says, no navy, no army, no airforce, and no weapons production. That sure saves them billions of dollars in spending. Young Japanese today not familiar w/ dropping of nuclear bomb. Good interviews w/ the American soldiers who actually dropped the bomb. Interesting use of the term "ground zero". Sadly, 9/11 wasn't the first "ground zero". Heartbreaking to hear the stories of the young innocent children who were mutilated by the bomb that we dropped. We dropped the bomb on one of the largest Catholic churches in the area as one Catholic survivor explains. If you give someone who is totally dehydrated too much water they will die on the spot. 9000 degrees. 140,000 killed in Hiroshima. 70,000 in Nagasaki. First you become overwhelmed. Then you become numb. Ultimately they were human sacrifices for our freedom today. Ironic that we thought of them as "2000 years out of date", as barbaric. Yet, look what damage we did to so many innocents. The challenge of war today is that as our weapons become so deadly we risk killing so many innocent people in the process of defending ourselves. But, most people would agree that the US a-bombing was necessary to end WW2. Pandora's box. The dilemma of war is that the win RAN OUT OF ROOM WHEN PASTING MY REVIEW IN!

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2007-09-17
Iraq in Fragments

Iraq in Fragments

You rated this movie: 4.0

Good footage of the challenges of trying to bring democracy. Nice to see actual elections. Challenges w/ all the illiterate people. True democracy unites people. America is united. The great irony of democracies trying to force democracy on another is it frequently ends up dividing people. Iraq may end up more divided than it was under Saddam. Iraqi's in the film point out that the USA put Saddam in power and supported him for 35 years Where is the life, liberty and pursuit of happiness America promised? America only knows force, they should learn the customs, started as liberator ended as occupiers. America brings sins of alcohol.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2007-09-10
Frontline: The Dark Side

Frontline: The Dark Side

You rated this movie: 5.0

Helps me to understand Cheney's motivations. Surprisingly, not as evil as I thought. Misguided perhaps but not evil. The real trajedy might be how much Colin Powell and Condileeza Rice let down America by not performing their roles as safeguards for America. Sad. Very sad.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2007-09-06
The Color of Olives

The Color of Olives

You rated this movie: 5.0

This movie is about people. This movie does a good job of helping us to feel what life is like from a perspective that is probably much different from ours. Color of olives is slow moving yet real because it accurately reflects what life is like for the "little guy", a basic yet principled family in Palestine. This movie exposes clear injustice and one family's longsuffering response.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2007-07-24

The Syrian Bride

You rated this movie: 5.0

This movie is really well done. Its funny, shows the various points of view well and has some good twists. I really liked the way it ends. Highlights the absurdity of the borders we draw with each other - both politically and personally.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2007-07-19
Arabs and Terrorism

Arabs and Terrorism

You rated this movie: 5.0

Raises some thought provoking questions from a differnt POV about what is terrorism, what's the difference between a soldier, freedom fighter or terrorist? Is killing ok if it is sanctioned by our government? This movie raises some great questions on the ethical use of force and violence. When is kiling another human justified? Who should decide? This movie could have been strengthened if it somehow included the peacemaking viewpoints/solutions of Gandhi, who was greatly influenced by Tolstoy, who was greatly influenced by Jesus.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2007-07-14
Rana's Wedding

Rana's Wedding

You rated this movie: 5.0

Good movie with a decent love story. I really liked the realistic background footage of how Israel treats Palestinians from just bulldozing innocent people's homes to the the "machine soldiers" as Israel is on the cutting edge of "security" products. Real life footage more or less censored in US media.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2007-07-09
Free Zone

Free Zone

You rated this movie: 5.0

Great movie! Touches on the Israel/Palestine issues in a very interesting way. Offers a few rays of hope. Also, I didn't know the background of Natalie Portman's struggle/exclusion from the Jewish community as the movie explains...

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2007-06-26
Maxed Out

Maxed Out

You rated this movie: 5.0

This is a timely movie and a warning to us all. Too bad it didn't touch on the underlying spiritual issues which cause this.

Delete Review Edit Review You wrote this on 2007-06-05

 

Your Ad Here